The Boy Who Knew Too Much



  1. 1. We Are Golden 3:58
  2. 2. Blame It On The Girls 3:33
  3. 3. Rain 3:44
  4. 4. Dr. John 3:44
  5. 5. I See You 4:17
  6. 6. Blue Eyes 2:51
  7. 7. Good Gone Girl 3:00
  8. 8. Touches You 3:18
  9. 9. By The Time 3:20
  10. 10. One Foot Boy 2:58
  11. 11. Toy Boy 2:55
  12. 12. Pick Up Off The Floor 3:20

Second album, ‘The Boy Who Knew Too Much’ was released in Autumn 2009 through Casablanca/Island Records. First single from the record was ‘We Are Golden’ with its glittering, euphoric chorus and energetic video. ‘We are Golden’ is a supernova musical rush – a gloriously epic slice of explosive power-pop – and underlines Mika as a completely unique talent within contemporary British music. The track features Mika and the massive backing of the Andrae Crouch Gospel Choir (famously on Madonna’s “Like A Prayer”) and a huge kids chorus who kick with a fantastic lung-puncturing chant of ‘we are not what you think we are, WE ARE GOLDEN!’

‘The Boy Who Knew Too Much’ was recorded between London and Los Angeles over two years and guests on the record include The Seawind Horns (Thriller, Off The Wall), Imogen Heap and Owen Pallet from Final Fantasy/Arcade Fire.

Fizzing with influences from big pop albums of the 80’s and 90’s through to Kurt Weill, 50’s singer Patti Page and 70’s singer-songwriter Harry Nilsson, Mika describes the record as more grown up than it’s precedessor. “‘Life in Cartoon Motion’ contained a lot of childhood references. The new album is more adolescent. I thought ‘where do I go back to? Before all this happened, what made me start writing songs?’ I loved that feeling of being 17/18 years old and I wanted to return to that period”.

Other tracks include “Blame It On the Girls,” which marries skittering percussion with floor-stomping piano and a swoon-worthy chorus, while “Rain” – featuring droplets of violin plucks from Owen Pallett – is a bona fide dancefloor anthem, Mika’s stunning voice floating effortlessly over pillows of synths. Indeed, from stirring ballads to candy-coated choruses, the second album retains a breadth of vision that speaks not only to Mika’s extraordinary melodic sensibilities, but also to the incredible stories he tells within his songs.

‘The Boy Who Knew Too Much’ entered the Top Ten of every single iTunes Top Ten around the world!

‘Pop’s Next Superstar – Bursting with melodies and sounding dazzlingly carefree’ – Observer Music Monthly

‘Mika’s is as bold, daring and vibrant an album as we’ll hear this year’ – Q ****

‘Mika’s album is brilliant’ – Lady Gaga